Expo Line Opening!

The new Expo Line train pulls into the Expo Park/USC Station on a picture perfect day.

The much anticipated Expo Line opened this weekend, finally bringing rail service between Downtown and the Westside. As part of the festivities along the line, the team from LA/2B was stationed at the Expo Park/USC station to promote our LA/2B Challenge and discover all the bright ideas Angelenos have for our future transporation.

Much like we have heard through our Virtual Townhall, our participants this weekend urged us to help create a more bikable and walkable Los Angeles with more reliable and  convenient transit options. Also, an overwhelming number of people who stopped by our booth stressed their desire for safer walking and biking facilities. Safety-minded Angelenos gave us ideas such as “wider sidewalks”, “protected bicycle lanes”, “slower speeds near schools and parks”, “safer crosswalks”, and “better pedestrian lighting” again and again.

Some happy Angelenos with their great ideas (more after the jump):

Two young Angelenos with some bright ideas: “I wish I could walk on more wakable streets” (left) and “I wish I could take transit on more trains” (right).

Some more bright ideas:

I wish I could take transit TO WORK.

I wish I could take transit TO MAGIC MOUNTAIN

I wish I could bike EVERYWHERE

I wish I could take transit TO OTHER TRANSIT

I wish I could bike EVERYWHERE

I wish I could walk ON WIDER SIDEWALKS

I wish I could take transit WITHOUT FALLING

I wish I could bike IN MORE BIKE LANES

I wish I could bike SAFELY TO SCHOOL

I wish I could bike IN A FRIENDLIER L.A.

Finally two young Los Angeles residents excited to ride the new Expo Line who support the Dodgers, Hot Wheels, and Robots who just liked our bicycle stickers and wanted their names on them

What’s your bright idea for mobility in Los Angeles? Tell us here.

This entry was posted in News, Outreach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

